• News
  • March 31, 2020
EPS Young Researcher Award 2019

The 2019 EPS Young Researcher Award is granted to Shoya Matsuda, as the first author of the following paper.

Shoya Matsuda, Yoshiya Kasahara, Hirotsugu Kojima, Yasumasa Kasaba, Satoshi Yagitani, Mitsunori Ozaki, Tomohiko Imachi, Keigo Ishisaka, Atsushi Kumamoto, Fuminori Tsuchiya, Mamoru Ota, Satoshi Kurita, Yoshizumi Miyoshi, Mitsuru Hikishima, Ayako Matsuoka and Iku Shinohara (2018):
Onboard software of Plasma Wave Experiment aboard Arase: instrument management and signal processing of Waveform Capture/Onboard Frequency Analyzer.
Earth, Planets and Space, 70:75, doi:10.1186/s40623-018-0838-0.

This paper reports the development of onboard software for the Plasma Wave Experiment (PWE) onboard the Arase satellite. This software was designed to measure DC electric field and plasma waves covering a wide frequency range (DC up to 10 MHz for electric field and a few Hz to 100 kHz for magnetic field). The cutting-edge technologies enable the PWE to successfully obtain important properties (e.g., power spectrum, wave normal direction, and polarization), as well as waveforms of both whistler-mode chorus and ion cyclotron mode waves in the inner magnetosphere. The PWE also has a significant function of providing raw waveform data to the software-type wave-particle interaction analyzer (S-WPIA), which derives direct correlation to the estimation of energy transfer between waves and particles. Data obtained from the PWE are indispensable in determining the detailed properties of plasma waves and wave-particle interaction in the inner magnetosphere and are essential for the success of the Arase mission. The first author, Dr. Shoya Matsuda, has made the most significant contribution to this study. Therefore, we award him the 2019 EPS Young Researcher Award.

Link: Past awardees of the EPS Young Researcher Award (Springer Open)