• News
  • July 8, 2019
EPS Special Award

The 1st EPS Special Award goes to the authors of the following paper.

Erwan Thébault, Christopher C Finlay, Ciarán D Beggan, Patrick Alken, Julien Aubert, Olivier Barrois, Francois Bertrand, Tatiana Bondar, Axel Boness, Laura Brocco, Elisabeth Canet, Aude Chambodut, Arnaud Chulliat, Pierdavide Coïsson, François Civet, Aimin Du, Alexandre Fournier, Isabelle Fratter, Nicolas Gillet, Brian Hamilton, Mohamed Hamoudi, Gauthier Hulot, Thomas Jager, Monika Korte, Weijia Kuang, Xavier Lalanne, Benoit Langlais, Jean-Michel Léger, Vincent Lesur, Frank J Lowes, Susan Macmillan, Mioara Mandea, Chandrasekharan Manoj, Stefan Maus, Nils Olsen, Valeriy Petrov, Victoria Ridley, Martin Rother, Terence J Sabaka, Diana Saturnino, Reyko Schachtschneider, Olivier Sirol, Andrew Tangborn, Alan Thomson, Lars Tøffner-Clausen, Pierre Vigneron, Ingo Wardinski and Tatiana Zvereva:
International Geomagnetic Reference Field: the 12th generation.
Earth Planets Space, 2015, 67:79, doi:10.1186/s40623-015-0228-9.

This paper presents the 12th generation of the International Geomagnetic Reference Field (IGRF) model which gives the standard geomagnetic model for the year 1900.0-2015.0 with secular variations to 2020.0. The model was a product from all the efforts in the geomagnetism community including geomagnetic observatories, magnetic field satellite missions, and IAGA V-MOD working group. It has been widely used in studies of the Earth's deep interior, crust, ionosphere, and magnetosphere. The paper is authored by 48 researchers and is now one of the most well-cited papers in Earth, Planets and Space with more than 332 citations (as of June 2019). Its contribution to the academic and relevant research is outstanding. Thus, we have decided that the first EPS special award should go to this paper.

About EPS Special Award

The EPS Special Award shall be awarded to those who made outstanding contributions to the journal "Earth, Planets and Space" by the editor-in-chief and the presidents of the following five supporting societies: Society of Geomagnetism and Earth, Planetary and Space Science; The Seismological Society of Japan; The Volcanological Society of Japan; The Geodetic Society of Japan; The Japanese Society for Planetary Sciences.

The "EPS Special Award Committee," which is composed of the members of the EPS editorial board, shall nominate the award. This award is not annual.


SpringerOpen's web page about EPS Special Award