• News
  • May 15, 2019
EPS Young Researcher Award 2018

The 2018 EPS Young Researcher Award is granted to C. H. Chen, as the first author of the following paper.

C. H. Chen, A. Saito, C. H. Lin, M. Yamamoto, S. Suzuki and G. K. Seemala:
Medium-scale traveling ionospheric disturbances by three-dimensional ionospheric GPS tomography.
Earth Planets Space, 2016, 68:32, doi:10.1186/s40623-016-0412-6.

In this study, the authors developed a three-dimensional ionospheric tomography using ground-based Global Positioning System (GPS) total electron content (TEC) observations. They evaluated their algorithm using the model ionosphere with Medium-Scale Traveling Ionospheric Disturbances (MSTIDs) and obtained acceptable results. The new design of their algorithm did not use a predefined ionosphere model; instead, they simply used the “least-square” method with a constraint condition to avoid ill-posed problems. This kind of algorithm will be highly useful for the reconstruction of the disturbed ionosphere.

Link: Past awardees of the EPS Young Researcher Award (Springer Open)